My 2012 Hugo Vote: Semiprozine

I’ve had a chance to peruse the five periodicals that have been nominated for the Best Semiprozine Hugo Award. First, what’s a semiprozine?

A “semiprozine” is defined for the Hugo Award as a magazine that meets at least two of five criteria: 1) that the magazine had an average press run of at least one thousand copies per issue, 2) that it paid its contributors and/or staff in other than copies of the publication, 3) that it provided at least half the income of any one person, 4) that it had at least fifteen percent of its total space occupied by advertising, and 5) that it announced itself to be a semiprozine. Additionally, it had to have produced at least four issues, with at least one issue published during the previous year.

The nominees are:

  • Apex Magazine edited by Catherynne M. Valente, Lynne M. Thomas, and Jason Sizemore
  • Interzone edited by Andy Cox
  • Lightspeed edited by John Joseph Adams
  • Locus edited by Liza Groen Trombi, Kirsten Gong-Wong, et al.
  • New York Review of Science Fiction edited by David G. Hartwell, Kevin J. Maroney, Kris Dikeman, and Avram Grumer

I’ve been reading Locus for years (since I discovered it in college, in fact). It’s a great magazine about the science fiction and fantasy fields, and a 29-time winner of the award. I like it better than the New York Review of Science Fiction, which I had never read before but which was certainly a surprisingly strong publication.

Lightspeed was an entertaining publication, but not quite up to the standards of Apex Magazine or Interzone, both of which were very strong with regard to fiction. Ultimately, I’m giving my vote to Interzone for its excellent fiction, superb professionalism and ancillary elements such as book reviews and DVD reviews.

This entry was posted in Science Fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post. Post a comment or leave a trackback.


  1. Posted August 23, 2012 at 3:51 AM | Permalink

    It almost goes without saying that the overwhelming favorite to win this award is Locus. Nevertheless, I’m going with Interzone because I think it deserves some recognition, too.

  2. Posted September 3, 2012 at 3:57 AM | Permalink

    As expected, Locus won the award for the 30th time. Pretty impressive, since the original founder and publisher, Charles N. Brown, died a few years back. It means the new team is keeping up the level of quality.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Your email address will never be published.